Goal: Dream Big

shutterstock_144636674Everyone has goals that they want to achieve. They’re all different, and uniquely suited to each one of us. Maybe you want to land a promotion in the next 6 months for that new job that’s coming up, or say hello to the cute someone you’ve been crushing on. We all have dreams, but a great many people dream small. There’s nothing inherently wrong with this. But you have so much more potential than you give yourself credit for.

I don’t care who you are or what you do. All the celebrities, rock stars and brilliant minds of the world are just regular people. There was a time before they were famous when they got bullied at school and didn’t know what was going to happen with their life, just like the rest of us. So how did they get where they are?

They had big dreams.

If you have small dreams, everything you’re doing to accomplish that dream is directed at something little. Your time and your efforts and your free time are losing some of that potential. Don’t get me wrong, these are important too. These small dreams are those little things in life that bring us happiness and give us memories and I will not take away from that. But I want to think big.

If you aim high, you achieve high.

I’ll give you an example. My goal in life is to change the world. That’s pretty general, and a pretty massive goal to be sure. But it’s a goal that I’m trying to narrow to something within my skill set that I can accomplish. I really enjoy writing, so maybe I’ll use that goal as motivation to write a book, or write a persuasive article that is powerful enough to sway people’s opinion. In the end it doesn’t matter how I do it. In the end I will find a way to change the world. I can say that because I’m willing to put the time and the effort in to achieving that goal.

You can achieve anything you want.

The key is finding a way to make it possible with your own unique skill set. For me, I decided to use my writing to try and help motivate people in their everyday lives to improve and increase their happiness. If I reach enough people and change their views, on a small scale I will have changed the world. So I made a plan. I started a blog where I can showcase my writing. I did my best to market it to other people; I spend a lot of time trying to find good content. It pays off. This morning I received an offer to start contributing to The Huffington Post.

If you dream big, you win big.

I made a huge leap in a short span of time. If I can do it, you can do it. You can. But you have to want it. You have to put in the time and the effort. You have to make a plan to take the steps you need to take in order to achieve your dreams. You need to know what skills you have to offer to make that dream a reality. Anyone can achieve their dreams, and I hope you do. It’s a big world and you have lots of potential.  So dream big, and let the world see what you’re made of.

Do you have big dreams? What fun is a dream if you keep it to yourself? Share your biggest dreams below in the comments! We want to hear your passions.

3 thoughts on “Goal: Dream Big

  1. Pingback: Quora
  2. Pingback: Quora

Leave a Reply

